Minimum Function with variable number of cells referenced RRS feed

• Question

• Hi

I am fairly new to VBA code so bare with me but I am trying to write VBA code for a minimum function that will contain a variable number of cell references.

I can calculate the location of all the cells but not sure how to get the FormulaR1C1 Property to add/remove the cell references accordingly. Is there another property that will allow me to do this?

Any suggestions?

Regards

Toby

Wednesday, December 2, 2020 9:59 AM

All replies

• Are you using the MIN funtion to find the minimum in a number of non contiguous cells or in a straight range of cells?

The following code is as recorded to find the minimum number in a range of non contiguous cells.

ActiveCell.FormulaR1C1 = "=MIN(RC[-3],R[3]C[-3],R[8]C[-3],R[13]C[-3],R[18]C[-3],R[22]C[-3],R[27]C[-3])"

If you select the cell containing the formula on the worksheet then in the formula Bar you will see the formula as follows.

=MIN(A2,A5,A10,A15,A20,A24,A29)

The VBA code can then be edited as follows using the formula as a string that is assigned to the cell

ActiveCell.Formula = "=MIN(A2,A5,A10,A15,A20,A24,A29)"

Referring to above line:

The R1C1 style is not used, the equals sign still follows Formula and there is another equals sign within the string.

The cell references can also be assigned to a single string variable as follows.

strCells = "A2,A5,A10,A15,A20,A24,A29"

The variable can then be used to concatenate a string as follows to create the formula in the ActiveCell

ActiveCell.Formula = "=MIN(" & strCells & ")"

An array can be used to hold the cell references and then used as follows to create the string for the formula.  First create the array.

arrCellRefs = Array("A2", "A5", "A10", "A15", "A20", "A24", "A29")

Then use as follows to concatenate and create the string for the formula

ActiveCell.Formula = "=MIN(" & Join(arrCellRefs, ",") & ")"