Beginner's question involving jQuery-Sortable and jQuery in general RRS feed

• Question

• User625999351 posted

I have very little experience using JavaScript/jQuery in an MVC environment.  I'm currently trying to figure out how a program works (no documentation) and my primary concern is one particular page.  It appears that the developers made use of a 3rd party package called jQuery-Sortable.  (http://johnny.github.io/jquery-sortable/)

The page in question has 2 side by side ULs and the main function is to drag items (<li>) from one list to the other, one item at a time. 

The relevant code is as follows.  I think I can see how it references the components in the cshtml but I'm not clear how the actual dragging is accomplished.  $left and $right are clearly the two <UL>s involved and I have seen in tracing how the adjustment is set.

A few questions:

• What does that _super call do?
    • Is there any way once an item has been dropped on a list to trigger a re-sort of the list?
    • Is there any way using this package alone to permit multiple selections?  (i.e. Select multiple items before dragging. My attempts to include jQueryUI selectable have not gone well).
    • If not, is there already some existing alternative out there that will allow me to replace jQuery-Sortable with the necessary attributes (multiple selects plus drag/drop in ordered lists as a minimum.)

var $parentDiv = $('#raw-data');
        var $left = $parentDiv.find('.left ul');
        var $right = $parentDiv.find('.right ul');
        var adjustment;

$parentDiv.find('ul').sortable({
            group: 'month',
            onDragStart: function ($item, container, _super) {
                var offset = $item.offset(),
                pointer = container.rootGroup.pointer;

adjustment = {
                    left: pointer.left - offset.left,
                    top: pointer.top - offset.top
                };

_super($item, container);
            },