TaskCancellationException: What am I doing wrong?

Question

• I am relatively new to Tasks, so the answer to this may be simple or maybe I am doing something completely wrong. What I am trying to do is display a Storyboard with several Animations (such as DoubleAnimation) and then wait for it to finish. Here is my current code:
    Private Async Function PlayCardAnimation(playerindex As Integer, row As Integer, column As Integer) As Task
    	Me.cancel = New CancellationTokenSource()
    	Me.slideboard = New Storyboard()
    	AddHandler Me.slideboard.Completed, AddressOf Me.slideboard_Completed
    	'This is where I add stuff to Me.slideboard
    	Me.slideboard.Begin()
    	Await Me.WaitForAnimation()
    	Me.cancel = Nothing
    	Me.slideboard = Nothing
    End Function

Private Function WaitForAnimation() As Task
    	Return Task.Delay(-1, Me.cancel.Token)
    End Function

Private Sub slideboard_Completed(sender As Object, e As Object)
    	Me.cancel.Cancel()
    End Sub
    What is currently happening is the Storyboard (Me.slideboard) runs, but then after it finishes (or at least I think it finishes, since the Completed event gets raised), I receive a TaskCancellationException on the line:
    Await Me.WaitForAnimation()
    What I was expecting to happen was the Task.Delay in Me.WaitForAnimation() would run until I cancelled it, which is what I attempt to do in slideboard_Completed, which handles the Completed event for Me.slideboard. I have confirmed that the Completed event is happening, so I am guessing the problem is in Me.cancel.Cancel() or has something to do with the overall technique I am trying to use (which may very well be, since I am inexperienced with using Tasks). Can anybody help me figure out what I am doing wrong, and what I need to do to fix it? Thanks.

Nathan Sokalski njsokalski@hotmail.com http://www.nathansokalski.com/

Thursday, May 7, 2015 4:40 PM

Answers

• Hello,