DAX formula to show all products in all months RRS feed

• Question

• Hi guys

I am new to DAX and I am having a bit of trouble getting a dax formula to show all products even though they haven't been sold for a particular month..

My data consists of one table and looks like this. (Month is a calculated column)

Country Product Quantity Date Month
    GB P1 4 2014-1-1 January
    GB P2 3 2014-1-1 January
    GB P3 2 2014-2-1 February
    GB P1 4 2014-2-1 February
    CAN P1 2 2014-1-1 January
    CAN P4 3 2014-1-1 January
    CAN P1 2 2014-1-1 February

I have made a calculated field called YTD that calculates year-to-date SUMS for the different products.
    I also have made a calculated field called sum, that calculates the sum of products sold for the context specified in the PivotTable.

In the resulting PivotTable i get this result, if i for instance make a slicer on february:

February:

Country Product SUM YTD
    GB P1 4 8
    GB P3 2 2
    CAN P1 2 4

However what i want is this (I have highlighted what is different):

February:

Country Product SUM YTD
    GB P1 4 8
    GB P2 0 3
    GB P3 2 2
    CAN P1 2 4
    CAN P4 0 3

So when I have made a slicer on dates, and I choose for instance february it shows only the products sold in february. But i want i to show all the products that has YTD>0, and just put a 0 in the SUM for the products that hasen't been sold that month.

I know i could solve this by inserting rows in the data source with quantity 0 for the products that hasen't been sold in a month. But this seems like a bad hack - and since there a lots and lots of products this would result in many unnecessary rows...

I have tried to google it but havent found a solution to this in DAX. 

Thank you for your help

Thursday, December 11, 2014 3:52 PM

Answers