get folder(s) in install location, and then enumerate the content

Question

• Hi,

I've included a number of folders and files to be distributed with my windows store apps. For example,

MyApp contains myData folder. myData contains a number of folder and each folder contains a number of files.

Based on the documentation, I've managed to get the install location for my app. The next thing is I want to go into myData folder, go into each folder and retrieve all file name and finally store it in a vector.

Thanks.

Note: The "FolderEnumeration" sample (scenario2) did use the same process but it's using a 'built-in' folder ie: Pictures. It's quite hard for me to apply/modify the sample code in my app since I'm still learning C++ and having difficult time to understand asynchronous programming.

Wednesday, April 10, 2013 2:16 AM

Answers

• Hi A,

You really need to understand tasks and recursion.  Please read up more on them or you may find yourself in further trouble.  The best resources are here:

Asynchronous programming (Windows Store apps)

Asynchronous programming in C++ (Windows Store apps)

Task Parallelism (Concurrency Runtime)

Please study this code as it well documented:

task<void> Scenario1::GetFolders(StorageFolder ^theFolder, String ^previousName)
    {
    	//Build the folder name from the previous and current folder name and pass to the next task
    	previousName += "\\" + theFolder->Name;

//Create a task that gets all the files and pass the previousName and this in
    	return create_task(theFolder->GetFilesAsync())
    		.then([this, previousName](IVectorView<StorageFile^>^ files)
    		{
    			//We now have a list of files in the folder...
    			String^ outputText = ref new String();
    			//Output the name of the folder..
    			outputText = "Folder: " + previousName + "\n";
    			//Iterate over the files (this is a task as well) and output the name
    			std::for_each(begin(files), end(files), [this, &outputText](StorageFile^ file)