none
WCF changing the MyFunctionResponse for a Web Service Method RRS feed

• Question

• Hello, 

I have an issue that I can't seem to figure out.  I have the following function and I need to change the response object.

<OperationContract(Name:="login", Action:="LoginAction", ReplyAction:="DWSS/MyLoginResponse")>
        Function Login(ByVal Username As String, ByVal Password As String) As MyLoginResponse

The above creates this in the WSDL. 

<xs:element name="loginResponse">
    <xs:complexType>
    <xs:sequence>
    <xs:element minOccurs="0" maxOccurs="1" name="MyLoginResponse" type="tns:MyLoginResponse"/>
    </xs:sequence>
    </xs:complexType>
    </xs:element>

How can you, Using VB, change the, what seems to be automatic, wsdl code generation from the login function.

I would like to change the loginresponse object to contain the the contents of the myloginresponse object. 

Why does wcf encapsulate the login method response object into another object?

I am very new to WCF and web services, so if none of this made much sense let me know I will attempt to explain it in a different way.

Wednesday, October 4, 2017 7:57 PM

All replies

• I am attempting to make a copy/test bed of a webservice that a client is creating, so the WSDL is set, I just can't seem to get WCF to follow that.  seems like there is a lot of Crap that MS is doing in the background that you don't really have control over. 

Wednesday, October 4, 2017 9:23 PM
  • Hi VisioDei,

>>Why does wcf encapsulate the login method response object into another object?

What do you mean by this?

Based on your OperationContract, it will return MyLoginResponse. Based on your description, it seems it returns MyLoginResponse object. What do you mean by loginresponse to contain MyLoginResponse object?

It would be helpful if you could share us a simple demo which could reproduce your issue.

Best Regards,

Edward

MSDN Community Support