none
DBContext.Savechanges query RRS feed

• Question

• This really has me stumped. Obviously I've misunderstood something or a vital piece of info hasn't quite sunk in. I'm new to EF having come in at 4.3 with code first. I have a form that instantiates a DBContext object. I have some databound winforms controls and also a public method that calls the DBContext.SaveChanges (called SaveEntity). If I change a field value and call SaveEntity from inside the form (e.g. in response to a button press) it saves the value fine. However if I call the SaveEntity public method from another form (e.g. the parent form that instantiated the one above) no update occurs. I've added some debug lines to read the status of the changetracker entity's current values and they still hold the original values, not the ones I've just updated. So next I created a property in the child form, and when that value is set I called SaveEntity (thinking that now it will be called locally and all will be well right? - well no, it wasn't). Am I missing something here?
    Monday, July 9, 2012 4:21 PM

Answers

• I've just had a eureka moment. It's caused by the fact that when you click a toolstrip button, the textbox in which you changed the value does not lose focus, therefore the edit in effect hasn't finished yet. This explains why the normal button works, because as soon as you click it, the button takes focus from the textbox.

So, is there an "approved" method of dealing with this, or can I just be sneaky and change focus to a textbox on the parent form which is outside the visible area whrn you click a toolbar (which works).

Gavin Williams

Tuesday, July 10, 2012 1:58 PM

All replies

• Hi,

How many context(s) do you have ? From your description my current understanding is that you have a context in the child form and another one in the parent form ? Or do you have a single context ?