none
How can I get a "view" or "report" that calculates and shows custom fields for resource usage instead of "Work"hours? RRS feed

• Question

• Disclaimer: I'm a noob when it comes to Microsoft Project.  I also don't know, yet, how to speak MS Project lingo, so please excuse me if I'm describing something incorrectly.

I've spent the better part of two days looking for a solution.

My project context:

Resources: "Development" and "Production".  These are not people, but an activity type.  Our operations team as a whole works in either development or production.

Tasks: individual segmented activities that have custom fields with physical attributes and descriptive attributes.  

Custom field values: are manually calculated in Excel and then copy/pasted into the correct task/field in MS Project.

Durations are manually calculated in Excel based on work rates (3 feet/day, for example for development group) and then copy/pasted into the correct task/field in MS Project.

Examples:

Task 1 (nameA), Custom field-distance in feet (40), Resource (Development)

Task 2 (nameB), Custom field-weight in lbs (200), Resource (Production)

Task 3 (nameC), Custom field-distance in feet (70), Resource (Development)

Task 4 (nameD), Custom field-weight in lbs (800), Resource (Production)

I have my entire project created (hopefully correctly), scheduled, and leveled so as to not over allocate resource capabilities.  Development resource is set to 200% max units, signifying that the project can allocate two development activities to be performed at one time, regardless of complete or partial overlapping.  

The Problem/Ask: