EF4 Not Importing Foreign Keys on Nullable Fields Correctly RRS feed

• Question

• I have two tables in my SQLite database that have a foreign key relationship between them. ADDRESS and TERRITORY are joined on ADDRESS.TERRITORYID and TERRITORY.TERRITORYID. There can only be one TERRITORY.TERRITORYID but in the ADDRESS table the TERRITORYID field can be null, but if it has a value it must be in TERRITORY.TERRITORYID. If the TERRITORY.TERRITORYID is deleted the cascade effect is to set ADDRESS.TERRITORYID to NULL.

When I use EF4 to build a model from this I get Error 113:Multiplicity conflicts with the referential constrain in Role 'Territory' in relationship 'FK_Address_0'. Because all of the properties in the Dependent Role are non-nullable, multiplicity of the Principle Role must be '1'.

Visually, everything looks great in the designer. The relationship shows as a 0..1 to * relationship. I'm new to EF4 (very new) but it seems that I must be missing something major here. If I can represent it in a relational database, why can't EF4 represent it in an ORM?

UPDATE: It seems that the reason for this error is because ADDRESS.TERRITORYID imported as Nullable = False whereas the definition of the table specifies that the field can be NULL. Why would it import this field improperly? Is there a setting I must specify? When I update the EDM from the database the field remains as I've manually set it: Nullable = (None), which is how the other nullable fields in that table were imported.

Monday, October 25, 2010 4:02 PM

Answers

• I haven't had a chance to install SQL Server Express to try this out. However, one other thing I tried that gave me an error was instead of setting up a foreign key relationship in the database to simply set it up as a relation in the EF designer. That generated all sorts of errors that I can't remember at the moment.