Manual Mapping got remove when i add New table or view from Databse RRS feed

• Question

• Hi there,I am new to EF.i have followed following article written Julia lerman to create custom entity as return type and it works fine but everytime i update model from database it remove manual change.please advise how can i solve this.

http://thedatafarm.com/blog/data-access/implement-select-stored-procedures-that-return-miscellaneous-data-in-ctp2-of-ef-designer/

i am using Vs2010 and EF 3.5

Thanks

ROnak

Thanks Ron

Thursday, August 9, 2012 3:28 PM

Answers

• Hi RonCe;

In that same article in the comments section was this.

Julie's link in the image is Entity Framework and Read Stored Procedures - a new perspective

Fernando (MCSD)

If a post answers your question, please click "Mark As Answer" on that post and "Mark as Helpful".

Thursday, August 9, 2012 6:30 PM
  • Hi Ronak;

The simplest thing to do is to take your stored procedure and make a View of it so that when you query the view the server will execute the SQL statement used to create the View and return a single row to you. You query the View just like you query a normal SQL table.

Fernando (MCSD)

If a post answers your question, please click "Mark As Answer" on that post and "Mark as Helpful".

• Marked as answer by Allen_MSDN Monday, August 13, 2012 1:40 AM
    Friday, August 10, 2012 7:44 PM

All replies

• Hi RonCe;

In that same article in the comments section was this.

Julie's link in the image is Entity Framework and Read Stored Procedures - a new perspective

Fernando (MCSD)

Thursday, August 9, 2012 6:30 PM
  • Thanks Fernando it make sense.can i select returntype as none and use execute reader to call SP using EntityClient classes ? i did for scalar return type not sure how it will work with none return type.

please advise 

ROnak

Thanks Ron

Thursday, August 9, 2012 8:24 PM
  •