none
LINQ to SQL RRS feed

• Question

• I am a newbie at LINQ and would appreciate a little guidance into how to use the DataContxt.

I created a datacontext like this

Dim conn As String = "Data Source=.\sqlexpress;Initial Catalog=trips;Integrated Security=SSPI; "
        Dim db As System.Data.Linq.DataContext = New System.Data.Linq.DataContext(conn)
        db.Connection.Open()

I have only one table in this database which is named TripSheet.  It contains a number of columns which are all text values.

All the examples I have seen have shown that to access the table, all I need is a simple

db.trips.InsertOnSubmit(<class>)

when I try that, VS says that trips is not a member of db.

How do I make the associate between the actual table in the database to the db object so that my error goes away?

BTW, reading MSDN for examples doesn't help me at all.   I really need a real person to help me understand how all this LINQ stuff works.

Thanks all for answers received.

Friday, August 12, 2011 2:43 PM

Answers

• Hi Deucy;

You state the following :

created a datacontext like this

Dim conn As String = "Data Source=.\sqlexpress;Initial Catalog=trips;Integrated Security=SSPI; "
    Dim db As System.Data.Linq.DataContext = New System.Data.Linq.DataContext(conn)
    db.Connection.Open()

Did you add a "Linq to SQL Classes" object by going to Solution Explorer and right clicking on the project name and selecting, Add => New Item, from the context menu then and then selecting "Linq to SQL Classes". Because if you did the name given to the DataContext class would have been DataClass1DataContext if you did not change the name at the bottom of the Add New Item dialog box to something else in which case the name of the DataContext class would have been SomethingelseDataContext. So I am not sure you created the data context class correctly.