Globalization and localization of data RRS feed

• Question

• I am using ADO.Net Data Services to retrieve data for a WPF application. I am not using the Entity Framework. Some of the data that I am retrieving is data used to validate input or used to populate combo boxes with possible values. I'd like to be able to localize this data on the server side. So if the wpf app is running on French box when I call to get data using ADO.Net Data Services I want my code that retrieves the data and returns it to be able to localize the data to that French culture. Is there any way with ADO.Net Data Services to communicate the client's locale information to the server when making a call to retrieve data? I have not found any good way to do this and I haven't been able to find any posts online describing this.
    Monday, June 22, 2009 8:38 PM

Answers

• Hi Pags,
     I apologize for the late response.
     I am no expert in globalization / localization on the server-side , but it looks like the data regarding the user locale is found in the Accept-Language header that the client sends in a request to the server.

Per EntitySet level localization
     On the server-side you can write a query interceptor that inspects this value and adds a subsequent filter to only return data in that language.

/Customers

Accept-Language: en-US

[QueryInterceptor("Customers")]
    public Expression<Func<Customers,bool>> OnQueryCustomers() {

string acceptLanguage = WebOperationContext.Current.IncomingRequest.Headers["Accept-Language"].ToString();

return  customerData => customerData.Where( cust => cust.LanguageDiscriminator == acceptLanguage );
    }

Service wide Localization
    override the OnStartProcessingRequest method to change the culture in which a request will be processed and also error/diagnostic messages
    are returned to the client.

protected override void OnStartProcessingRequest(ProcessRequestArgs args) {