Adding Video Download Link to Website RRS feed

• Question

• Hi everyone, I am fairly new to programming and web development as a whole but I have been using Expression Web for a while to develop very basic sites while I get used to it. I am using Expression Web 3 and Expression Encoder and I am now looking to add some video to a site and put that same video up for download.
    I have discovered through the GUI how to add a video in and size it and everything but I am having problems creating a Download Link for users to download my video. I have created the link and if I just create a simple hyperlink to the file in my website then the video will just play when they click on the link. I want to have the video play but have the ability to click the link and not play but start the download. If I have a wmv file on the site I don't want it to start Windows Media Player on the client's computer but instead as where they want to save it too. I have searched everywhere online but they all just talk about some PHP code that does this but not how or where to enter it or anything.

I would love for a simple way to do this from the GUI as I am much more comfortable adding things that way but if you gave a good description of the code entry I am almost positive that I can get that too. Also, I have been doing lots of HTML pages and have only recently started using .aspx and other types to get the hang of everything so if its capable of being in HTML that is much easier on me.

Thanks in Advance,
    Thomas
    Monday, March 8, 2010 10:51 PM

All replies

• Take a look at this on Chris's website- it may be what you are looking for.

http://www.veign.com/code-view.php?type=web&codeid=29 

Bookmark his site- it is full of good stuff.