Setting printer driver default settings RRS feed

• Question

• I have a label printer with the driver loaded with the settings in the driver set I can print the exact label that I want, I have the problem that I need to set the default settings in the driver when the software starts. there are 6 of these printers and the only problem we have found is that different operators like to change the settings.

What I need to do is to set the following commands in the driver so each time the system is started (daily) it loads the settings and works properly.

I need to set

Custom Commands Text, Start, Parsed Text

In the Advanced Setup, turn on use printer settings

Other settings would be usfull but as I cannot set these I do not think I will be able to set others.

I can currently set some of the commands eg,

DefaultPageSettings.PrinterSettings.Copies=2

Regards

Glenn

Tuesday, April 24, 2012 7:00 AM

Answers

• Hello Gyzmo,

I've no knowledge of current Label printers, but in my memory they have always special settings. 

Try the website of the vendor of that label printer. 

In past you could always make a simple batch file which you can start in VB with Process Start. 

Look here at some samples of that on our website.

http://www.vb-tips.com/StartProcess.aspx

Success
    Cor

• Proposed as answer by Mike Feng Wednesday, April 25, 2012 8:50 AM
    • Marked as answer by Mike Feng Tuesday, May 8, 2012 5:52 AM
    Wednesday, April 25, 2012 6:34 AM
  • Just as a final entry for this I have the commands and printer working using the pass through option and it looks to be working fine, Thanks for your assistance.

Glenn

Thursday, April 26, 2012 12:18 AM

All replies

• Hello Gyzmo,

I've no knowledge of current Label printers, but in my memory they have always special settings. 

Try the website of the vendor of that label printer. 

In past you could always make a simple batch file which you can start in VB with Process Start.