none
"Fields" getting messed up in Word 2007 RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I am fairly new to Word fields, and I have just set up a large document to use them.  However, Word 2007 is messing up lots of my fields, and I can't figure out why.  For instance, if I have the text

{ IF { vvInternal } = 1 "A" "B" }

And I have the bookmark vvInternal set to 1.  This works fine and evaluates to A.  But later on, I find that the same snippet doesn't work right.  Instead it evaluates to B.  So I think maybe I've written something wrong, so I copy that same text right below it (Ctrl-C, Ctrl-V), so I have two lines with the exact same text.  Then I re-apply both fields (F9), and then the first statement still evaluates to A (bad) while the newly copied statement evaluates to B (good).  (Note that the real text is not "A" and "B", but some real short text in my document.)

I can't figure out why Word is messing up the original statement - it seems like a bug.  It seems to be prevalent after I save the file and reopen it, although I'm not positive it's related to that.

Also, when I copy the text above, "{ vvInternal }" sometimes turns into "{ vvInternal1 }" in the copied version (with an extra number 1 at the end), although the copied version still seems to work properly.

Also, after I've re-opened the document, sometimes the original snippet above shows up without all of its close-brackets - it might loook like this instead:

{ IF { vvInternal = 1 "A" "B"

Does anyone know what is going on with Word?  Any suggestion appreciated!

Monday, April 25, 2011 3:30 AM

Answers

• Hi Eliot,

There are a couple of things happening in this document that contributed to its problem. The first is there are two bookmarks that encompass the vvInternal setting. One is labeled vvInternal, the other is OLE_LINK. The other problem area is Tracked Changes.