Deploying MVC 5 Database on IIS Manager in Windows 7 RRS feed

• Question

• User-1264304776 posted

Hi, I am a developer of Asp.Net MVC 5 but I am in surprised how hard it is to deploy my site in local network and not in azure.

Anyways this is about my database, I have a hard time on knowing how should I go with the database because I use Entity Framework and LocalDb
    but
    I read somewhere that it is not advisable to use LocalDb, so if not LocalDb what should I use that my application will still work?

And what applications do I need to install? Should I install MS Express or something?

Please help I am stuck for a day or two in this step

Tuesday, September 29, 2015 3:48 AM

All replies

• User-821857111 posted

If you are only running the application for local use (on a PC instead of a proper server), you can use LocalDb. 

Tuesday, September 29, 2015 4:21 AM
  • User-1264304776 posted

I plan to deploy it on local network :) is that the same thing in your mind? Anyways if I am going to use LocalDb what steps should I take and softwares to install? THANKS

Tuesday, September 29, 2015 4:37 AM
  • Tuesday, September 29, 2015 5:42 AM
  • User1751268424 posted

Hi,

Changing where database is located is not a big issue. You only need to change your connectionString point to where is your database is located.

Here samples for your references:

<add name="DefaultConnection" connectionString="Data Source=(LocalDb)\MSSQLLocalDB;AttachDbFilename=|DataDirectory|\aspnet-WebApplication3-20150929043946.mdf;Initial Catalog=aspnet-WebApplication3-20150929043946;Integrated Security=True"
          providerName="System.Data.SqlClient" />

<add connectionString="Server=192.168.151.2;Database=dTrack;User ID=xxxx;Password=*******" name="DefaultConnection" providerName="System.Data.SqlClient" />