uncaught exception handlers RRS feed

• Question

• Hello everyone,

I am new to how to catch uncaught exception. From some self-learning, I think we should use, event handler for AppDomain.CurrentDomain.UnhandledException other than Application.ThreadException if we are writing console or Windows service, right?

Application.ThreadException is for Windows Form application, not console and Windows Service application?

thanks in advance,
    George

Saturday, April 26, 2008 2:53 PM

Answers

• There's no need to overcomplicate things.  The Application class you're talking about is in the System.Windows.Forms assembly and namespace, so you wouldn't have it in a typical console application.

Additionally, if you look at the code for the Application class, you will see that it is suited for an application that shows a form - it is coupled to WinForms.

Additionally, if you try running the following sample you will see that the Application.ThreadException handler is not called.  So if the above didn't convince you yet that you're not supposed to be using the Application class in a console application, I hope you are now convinced.

class Program
        {
            static void Main(string[] args)
            {
                Application.ThreadException += delegate
                {
                    Console.WriteLine("Application.ThreadException called.");
                };
                throw new InvalidOperationException();
            }
        }

Sunday, April 27, 2008 5:35 AM
  • That's correct, a console app doesn't have an Application object.
    Saturday, April 26, 2008 7:13 PM

All replies

• That's correct, a console app doesn't have an Application object.
    Saturday, April 26, 2008 7:13 PM
  •  Sasha Goldshtein wrote:
    That's correct, a console app doesn't have an Application object.

Why is it so? I just opened one of my Console apps and typed:

Application.Exit ( );