none
Master Details Concurrency violation: The updatecommand affected 0 of the expected 1 record RRS feed

• Question

• I have a master detail scenario setup on my Contacts form. The master table is Contact and has contact names, the details table lists all the phone numbers for each contact. Both Contact and Phone are displayed in datagridviews. I've added the ContactBindingSource.Endedit command to the addingnew event of the phone table and when I click the save button it runs:

Me.Validate(), Me.ContactBindingsource.endedit(), Me.PhoneBindingSource.endedit() and me.tableadaptermanager.updateall(me.DataSetName)

The problem occurs when I add a new contact and then add a phone number for that contact before saving the contact. When I run the save subroutine, the phone record gives me the following error: "Concurrency violation: The updatecommand affected 0 of the expected 1 record". The confusing part is that I am inserting a new record into the phone table, so I don't know why the update command is being run. After I receive this message, I can check back in the database and no changes have been made. I've used the SQL server profiler to see what commands are actually being run and it appears that the update Stored Proceudre is being run and -1 is being passed in as the PhoneID.

I've tried a few tricks that have helped along the way such as changing the source for all the isnull parameters from Current to Original and this did not do the trick either.

Monday, November 29, 2010 4:44 AM

Answers

• I found the solution on my own. The reason for the abnormal behavior was that the Accept/Reject Rule for the relationship in the dataset within this parent/child was set to "Cascade" instead of "none" once I changed the rule back to "none". It worked without a problem.
    • Marked as answer by Technobeam Wednesday, December 1, 2010 6:57 PM
    Wednesday, December 1, 2010 6:57 PM

All replies