none
XElement and XAttribute memory leak? RRS feed

• Question

• I'm writing a utility that dumps tons of information into XML files on the hard drive. Using 3rd party memory profilers, I determined that I have memory leaks in my application that point to massive instantiations of XElement and XAttributes. I use LINQ to XML to generate (as well as load) XML information, is there any way I can Dispose of any queries that generate numerous XAttributes on the fly after I no longer need them? The graphs I am studying suggest the LINQ queries that store these XElem and XAttr objects hang around until the next time the same method with the same query is invoked, very strange.

I've already streamlined the XML IO process. Initially I was using XDoc.Load() and manipulating then XDoc.Save(). As the files got bigger, my application chewed through more memory (obviously). Now I am using a cusom XML streaming injection scheme where I generate a new, small tree using LINQ; after the tree is generated I invoke a custom axis iterator over the existing large files and append a LINQ query referencing said iterator to the end of the small tree in memory. At this point nothing has happened since LINQ uses deferred execution (woot). Once I save the file, everything works great except all those XElements and XAttribute objects APPEAR to hang around past the function's lifespan until the next time that same function is called. This can be seen by the well-timed "dips" in Total and Live Instances of these objects in my .NET Memory Profiler app.

Edit:

I forgot to mention that this is an issue because "over the course of an hour" the average number of instances goes up slightly until the peak instancing of the two objects crashes the program with an Out of Memory exception. It seems all I can do is watch the ticking time bomb that is LINQ to XML.
    Sunday, August 23, 2009 6:39 AM

All replies