How to create a new form in different document library on form submission? RRS feed

• Question

• I'm trying to set up a workflow based on one central form that generates other different forms in separate document libraries depending on its values. I'm working in a repair shop, so when an item arrives to be repaired someone will add a new document in the general repair form library. When the form is submitted, I need it to automatically create forms in other document libraries based on what type of equipment was returned.  I'm fairly new to sharepoint, but I'm guessing that I need to set up actions based on the values in the initial repair form, I just have no idea how to get these actions to create a new document in a separate library. (i.e. a different form template specifically designed for the type of equipment returned). It would be great if I could set up the fields on the new form to automatically take the values from the general repair form (i.e. serial number, date received, that sort of thing)... Even a general idea of what I need to look up would be helpful - I'm having a hard time finding where to set up an action such as this!

Thank you in advance for any advice you can give!

Thursday, February 3, 2011 9:16 PM

Answers

• Noel - Can you not add a hyperlink to the other form which users can click on to launch them? You can use conditional formula on those hyperlinks so that the appropriate form is visible depending on the choice made on the "Master Repair" form. I haven't done this yet, so let me know if this works for you or not.

Pman
    http://www.pmansLab.com/
    • Marked as answer by Leoyi Sun Wednesday, February 16, 2011 8:36 AM
    Tuesday, February 8, 2011 4:02 AM
  • Hi Noel, sorry it took me so long to get back to you.  First, see this link on how to create forms in another library via SharePoint Designer workflow:  http://www.bizsupportonline.net/blog/2009/06/create-infopath-forms-sharepoint-designer-workflow/