none
MS-Access 2016 RRS feed

• Question

• I have a Visual Basic Program that transfer a text file to an Access file, which all works. However after upgrading to Access 2016 when I try to open the MS-Access file to check I get a security warning, I choose to continue to open and only get a blank screen. There are file menus where I can view the privacy terms and agreements. But I cannot see any tables, queries, or forms. It does not have macros or anything.

I can import the old Access file to another and view everything, however I do not want to have to do this. Is there anyway I can stop the security warning?

I added trusted folders where my access files are located, and they are renamed through the Visual Basic program as needed. I have been using MS-Access since 1997, but never encountered not being able to see tables and queries from an MS-Access file.

I did as a test enabled all macros, and other security things. This is on my local home computer, so I can change whatever I need.

Tuesday, November 17, 2015 7:00 PM

Answers

• Hi Broggy69,

>> I have to stick with .mdb, because of other programs that uses the MS-Access file after the data has been import, and queries ran. So other programs do not yet support the .accdb format

As you have found, mdb file is not supported in Access 2016. If you want to use Access 2016, you need to convert mdf file to accdb file. If you stick with mdb, you need to degrade Access version, you could use Access 2010 or Access 2013.

Best Regards,

Edward

We are trying to better understand customer views on social support experience, so your participation in this interview project would be greatly appreciated if you have time. Thanks for helping make community forums a great place.
    Click HERE to participate the survey.

Thursday, November 26, 2015 8:46 AM

All replies