none
VS2015 won't compile a project that compiles fine in VS2013

Question

• I have a multi project solution that I have been developing for the last four years using VS2010 and then VS2013.  Recently I have been migrating all of my solutions to VS2015 and everything has gone fine until this particular solution.  When I try to compile it I get the following error;

Error reading resource 'CGPrinter.Domain.dll.licenses' -- 'Could not find file 'C:\Users\dhoffman\Documents\Visual Studio 2015\Projects\CGPrinter\CGPrinter.Domain\obj\x64\Release\CGPrinter.Domain.dll.licenses'.'

Can you please help me understand what this error message means exactly and what I need to do to get my solution compiling in VS2015.

I will be glad to provide you with a zip file of the solution if that would help.

Thank you.

Dale Hoffman

Dale Hoffman

Thursday, November 19, 2015 10:44 PM

Answers

• Hi Dale Hoffman,

>>Error reading resource 'CGPrinter.Domain.dll.licenses' -- 'Could not find file 'C:\Users\dhoffman\Documents\Visual Studio 2015\Projects\CGPrinter\CGPrinter.Domain\obj\x64\Release\CGPrinter.Domain.dll.licenses'.'

Since it worked well in VS2013, please check that whether it is related to the .NET Framework version, for example, change it to be the .NET 4.5.1 as the VS2013.

Like this document here:

https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ha0k3c9f%28v=vs.110%29.aspx?f=255&MSPPError=-2147217396

Cross compilation between 32-bit and 64-bit is not supported when you use the License Compiler when building your project. This is because the License Compiler has to load assemblies, and loading 64-bit assemblies from a 32-bit application is not allowed, and vice versa.

You would check that whether it is related to the Platform target (X86/X64/ANY CPU). Or you could create a new .licenses file in your VS2015.