none
Accessing a resource file in an Outlook VSTO Addin RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to VSTO development, so I will apologize upfront for any 'stupid' questions. I have done a bit of research and have found a lot of what I am looking for, just afraid I might not be asking the right question.

I am building an AddIn, for Outlook, that when a user clicks "send" is going to look at all the recipients of the email and if there is any emails outside of a 'white' list or if they are trying to send the email to a public email domain (hotmail, gmail...) a pop-up box will come up and the user will have to verify that all the email addresses are correct.

My question is:

1. What is the best way to manage the "white" list (which would usually be the company email, any maybe any key partners)?
    2. What is the best way to manage the public email domain lists? 

I was thinking to have a resource, or config file that can be modified as needed, without re-deploying the addin, and the addin code would read this resource file.

So I can't figure our how to access a resource(s) file that will be used to get this information, and where is this resource file stored on the local computer?

Thanks

Thursday, July 9, 2015 12:05 AM

Answers

All replies

• Hi David Christ,

>>What is the best way to manage the "white" list (which would usually be the company email, any maybe any key partners)?<<

It depends on the requirement. We can store the settings as a normal application in the config file or we can declare the variables in the code if it doesn't change.

>>What is the best way to manage the public email domain lists? <<

What did you mean public email domain lists? Based on my understanding, we can store the settings as mentioned