Need help with MVC Create/Edit form for many to many relationships. RRS feed

• Question

• User1901201124 posted

Hello, I'm new to MVC and I was wondering if someone could please help me in creating a simple form that inserts/updates a many to many relationship model.

Everything in this Entity should be working now with the help of the people below (Much appreciated for taking the time!).

The only thing that is missing now is when it does the Create it creates the data for the Company and Contractor table but it did not insert the data for the join table CompanyContractor with fields Company_ID and Contractor_ID (A join table EF created automatically for me).

How do I "Cross reference both objects" so I can insert their ID into the Join table CompanyContractor? Thanks!

public class Company
    {
            [Key]
            [DatabaseGenerated(DatabaseGeneratedOption.Identity)]
            public int ID { get; set; }

[Required]
            [Display(Name = "Company Name")]
            public string CompanyName { get; set; }	

public int ProvinceId { get; set; } //ProvinceId is a foreign key that corresponds to Province
    [ForeignKey("ProvinceId")]
    public Province Province { get; set; }
    public virtual ICollection<Contractor> Contractors { get; set; } } public class Contractor { [Key] [DatabaseGenerated(DatabaseGeneratedOption.Identity)] public int ID { get; set; } [Required] [Display(Name = "Contractor Name")] public string ContractorName { get; set; } [Required] [Display(Name = "Job Code")] public string JobCode { get; set; } public virtual ICollection<Company> Companies { get; set; } }

public class Province
        {
            [Key]
            [DatabaseGenerated(DatabaseGeneratedOption.Identity)]
            public int ID { get; set; }

[Display(Name = "Province")]
            [StringLength(100, ErrorMessage = "Province cannot be longer than 100 characters.")]
            public string Name { get; set; }
        }

the Context as so