Problems on connection during mirroring (Error 1418) RRS feed

• Question

• Hi everyone, I am a newbie on setting up database mirroring and right now I am facing the connection problem during mirroring which is Error 1418 which kinda common problem. I just view through all the threads regarding this problems and BOL also. However, I just based on all the guide to setting it up and the result are still the same.

I did tried on both instance names in my server for mirroring and displayed the same results as well. When I type this t-sql on mirror server :

ALTER DATABASE AdventureWorks SET PARTNER = 'TCP://TSUYOSHI:5022' -- which is the  principal server

It shows connection ok to me. However, when I type this t-sql on the principal server :

ALTER DATABASE AdventureWorks SET PARTNER = 'TCP://HAN:5023' -- which is the  Mirror server

It shows connection ok to me. However, when I type this t-sql on the principal server :

Msg 1418, Level 16, State 1, Line 1

The server network address "TCP://HAN:5023" can not be reached or does not exist. Check the network address name and that the ports for the local and remote endpoints are operational.

I just wondering that why mirror can get a connection to principal but principal can't? Is that any extra configuration especially security settings that needed to be set within the database (MS sql server 2005) ?

I hope I am able to get any assistance from anyone at here and will appreciate on it. Thanx. Anyway, sorry for the inconvenience

Best Regards, 

Hans

Friday, November 3, 2006 10:25 AM

Answers