none
BindingSource Manual Updates

Question

• I am new to Visual Basic 2017 and I am trying to figure out the best way to do this.

I have a form with three fields and I have written code for command buttons to Add new record,  move next, first, last and previous and they all work.  Now I am working on the Save button.  Since my fields aren't corrected to fields,  I need to move them in manually. 

For opening the database,  I have this:

Private AfterConn AsNewOleDb.OleDbConnection
    PrivateContactAdp AsNewOleDb.OleDbDataAdapter
    PrivateContactDS AsNewDataSet
    PrivateContactSRC AsNewBindingSource

AfterConn.ConnectionString = "Provider = Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0;Data Source=C:\TEMP\testDB0514.mdb"

AfterConn.Open()

ContactAdp = NewOleDb.OleDbDataAdapter("Select* from Contacts", AfterConn)

ContactAdp.Fill(ContactTable)

ContactDS = NewDataSet
            ContactAdp.Fill(ContactDS, "Contacts")

ContactSRC.DataSource = ContactDS

Then I have a cmdSave button,  but not sure how to move the text fields into the ContactSRC.  

Or is there a better way to do this than the BindingSource?   One reason I went with the binding source is so when I create a Search button that I can do the binding source.filter option.

Thanks for your help,

Ken

Monday, May 20, 2019 9:12 PM

Answers

• It isn't resolved yet.  I am not sure what I need to get my issue resolved.

I did kind of switch things around in that maybe I could update the table and then refresh the dataset/binding source.  I cant find any examples on that either,  so I am kind of stuck with this issue.

• Marked as answer by KenTrinity Thursday, May 23, 2019 5:05 PM
    Wednesday, May 22, 2019 1:31 PM

All replies

• Hi,

Do you want to modify the database?I made a demo.

Imports System.Data.SqlClient
    Public Class Form1
        Dim constr As String = "Data Source = (localdb)\MSSQLLocalDB; Integrated Security = True ;AttachDbFileName= C:\Users\alexl2\Desktop\DataBase\Alex\alex.mdf"