FTP Adapter - check for file exists before uploading RRS feed

• Question

• I'm using the FTP Adapter that comes with BizTalk 2013. I'd like to add logic that says - if file exists, do not upload file (from disc). Instead, move the file (from disc) to an "duplicates" directory and then send out an email notifying that there was a duplicate file.

How would I do this?

1) Someone posted a similar question a while back and said you'd basically have to write your own adapter? If this is the case, can someone point me to how to get started? I have no issue writing the FTP Library code (I already have something similar), so I'm just looking for pointers on how to create my adapter. BTW, I'm fairly new to BizTalk.

http://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/lync/en-US/89521f6d-1db3-4551-93b1-5d15940ec97e/ftp-adapter-to-check-duplicate-files?forum=biztalkgeneral

2) Alternatively, would it be simpler if we could in fact use a custom pipeline component? Something that intercepts the FTP Adapter before it does the actual FTP'ing? e.g. I can use my FTP library to perform a directory listing to search for the file on the target server and add all my archive/disc and email logic. I roughly know how to create custom pipeline components, though I'm not entirely sure how I would get my input variables (i.e. file name, and settings from the FTP Adapter).

Feed back would be greatly aprpeciated!

Thanks.

Thursday, February 6, 2014 9:43 PM

Answers

• The FTP Adapter has a "Before Put" property you can use to specify commands to send before the PUT operation.

You should be able to use that to solve the 'move to duplicates folder' requirement.

As for detecting this and sending a notification, you could have another FTP Receive Location that then Retrieves the 'duplicate' files and sends a notification or whatever. The problem here is it would retrieve the file.

To answer you specific questions: