none
Basic questions (Setting up an image for an Intel atom E600), please help! RRS feed

• Question

• Dear Everyone,

I am new to CE development and have a number of questions that I would really appreciate if someone would take some time to answer.

Background:

I have a small Atom E600 series PC intended for industrial automation that I would like to use with Windows CE. The PC has a VGA port, USB, 2 net ports, 3 serial ports, a harddriver and so on. I have managed to install freedos on the harddrive and use LOADCEPC to boot an image that I've either copied using the serial link (via Visual Studio) or copied to the disk manually. Windows CE crashes or stalls at some point (no picture!).

Question 1:

Initially, I thought that the Atom PC was just "a PC" and that I could use the CEPC BSP. Later, I found that there was a specific Atom E600 BSP available which I am using now. Do I need to use the specialized BSP or should I be able to treat it as "just another pc"?

Question 2:

The netcard on the PC is not NE2000 compatible so I am unable to connect to Visual Studio via eboot.bin. Things works fine with the serial link but transfering the image is too slow (30 min+). If I copy the image to the disk manually, however, I seem to be unable to attach the debugger (VS stalls, waiting for connection). How do I connect the debugger without transfering the image?

Question 3:

Using the BSP for the Atom I am able to get the network adator running. An IP is assigned and I can ping it from the my workstation. If KITL is enabled it CE halts shortly after with the message "Connecting to desktop". I figure that I need to something on the workstation in order to hook up the KITL connection but nothing seems to work. Any ideas?

Question 4: