none
MapCameraPointToDepthSpace (but without a KinectSensor or CoordinateMapper) RRS feed

• Question

• So I'm trying to make it possible to play back recorded Kinect depth/color/body frames on a tablet or phone (i.e., without the SDK). Actually, I'm done with that part (look for the KinectEx project coming soon). The only thing that is unavailable is the mapping functionality since this is all tied to the sensor itself.

I'm recording the results of an initial call to GetDepthCameraIntrinsics and GetDepthFrameToCameraSpaceTable in my recording file's header. I can use this however needed. Seems like it may be possible to reproduce MapDepthSpaceToCameraSpace, however I'm really not clear how to proceed with the rest.

I'm far from an expert in optics (novice might be being generous), so the intrinsics info is Greek to me. Can I use that to do a projection of a CameraSpacePoint onto depth space (i.e., 3D to 2D projection)?

And I'm completely clueless how I could accomplish depth <--> color mapping with what I have.

Any help here would be appreciated. Is this possible, or am I just going to have to do without mapping?

Paul T. York, Ph.D. Computer and Information Sciences Georgia Regents University

Wednesday, August 6, 2014 3:28 AM

All replies

• A singular initial call may not be enough (temperature influence on the lenses/sensors). Validating your approach w. our experts :)
    Wednesday, August 6, 2014 4:53 PM