Building WSP solution using WSPBuilder RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I'm new to SharePoint development and am looking for some help on building solution packages using WSPBuilder. There are many articles on google showing how to build the wsp using the wspbuilder visual studio extensions and I'm able to build, deploy, and uninstall the wsp using visual studio. But I don't find any detailed articles on how to do this using the command line.

1. Can someone give a step by step procedure for this?

2. Also when I try to deploy the solution built using wspbuilder manually using stsadm, it asks for when to deploy and 'allowgacdeployment' arguments which I think correspond to the Solution Management to the Time and GAC deployment options. But once I give these arguments it returns the following:

C:\>stsadm -o deploysolution -name MossSolution.wsp -url http://mossdev1 -immediate -allowGacDeployment

This solution contains no resources scoped for a Web application and cannot be deployed to a particular Web a
    pplication.

But when I click on deploy using the GUI, it is says 'Deployed globally'. Why this difference between stsadm and the GUI?

Thanks,
    Connor.
    Thursday, August 21, 2008 7:30 PM

Answers

• you have done it right with 

C:\>stsadm.exe -o deploysolution -name MossSolution.wsp -immediate -allowgacdeployment

this will deploy it globally. i will check some time later for allcontenturl. i have couple of batch files to deploy WSP files at some customers. i will check them to see again in which scenario we used allcontenturl. but my above reply about not specifying a URL is correct that in case when WSP contains only dll for GAC, you should not specify a URL.

Thursday, August 21, 2008 9:17 PM

All replies