none
Automatically create new Excel file from template using data from a selected row in a separate Excel file RRS feed

• Question

• I am fairly new to Macro and VBA in Excel. I am trying to reduce the amount of work involved in a task that is performed often in our office. Currently, the task involves using 2 separate Excel files. One file is a tracking sheet and the second is the document that gets sent out to the client. The second document has all the same information that is inserted into the tracking sheet. What I would like to do is have the information that is in one row on the tracking sheet populate into a new excel file that is created automatically from an existing template.

I have been able to make this partially work. What I have been able to achieve is have the cell that is selected in the tracking sheet (the description field) copy into the new file that is created from the template that is on our server.

Sub NewRFI()
    '
    ' NewRFI Macro
    '

'
        MsgBox Selection.Address(ReferenceStyle:=xlA1, _
                               RowAbsolute:=False, ColumnAbsolute:=False)
        Selection.Copy
        Workbooks.Add Template:= _
            "template file path goes here"
        Range("C14").Select
        Selection.PasteSpecial Paste:=xlPasteValues, Operation:=xlNone, SkipBlanks:= _
        False, Transpose:=False
        Range("C14").Select
        Application.CutCopyMode = False
    End Sub