VC ++ error - Application failed to initialize properly. RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I am a newbie to VC++ and I changed a little bit of an existing program and tried to distribute the file so others could use the revised edition. I get this error:

1. The application failed to initialize properly (0xc0150002). CLick on OK to terminate the application.

I assumed that the exe lacks certain dll's and hence installed the x86 redistribution package on the client computer (which does not have VC++ installed) but still the problem persists.

I used dependables.exe to see the list of dll's required, even though the client computer has the necessary dll's in the sys folder, the application fails to see it.

When I use this exe on any other computer which 'has VC++ installed', the program works fine. Just on computers not havign VC++ there is this problem. I think the dll's are not in the specified location. How do I fidn out what location the dll's should be in for the exe to work? I have even placed the dll's (such as MSVCP80d, MFC80,MSVCR80D, MSVCR80 etc) in the local directory but to no avail. Any help will be greatly appreciated. Thank you for your time.

Regards

Viveque.

Friday, October 6, 2006 12:21 AM

Answers

• First, the VC runtime package has the release builds only. If you built if for debug then you should rebuild it for release and then try it. There is a pretty big difference between the two. If that doesn't work, try to link it with the static runtime rather than the dll, that way there shouldn't be the dependency problem.
    Friday, October 6, 2006 12:34 AM

All replies

• First, the VC runtime package has the release builds only. If you built if for debug then you should rebuild it for release and then try it. There is a pretty big difference between the two. If that doesn't work, try to link it with the static runtime rather than the dll, that way there shouldn't be the dependency problem.
    Friday, October 6, 2006 12:34 AM
  • Hi,