none
Synchronized (dependent/dynamic) Combo Boxes in Access 2010 RRS feed

• Question

• I have searched and tried every answer I could find, but I can't get my combo boxes to work properly.  I have two tables: EventCat and EventType, EventCat has fields "ID" and "Category".  EventType has "ID", "CatID", and "Type".  I'm trying to limit the types that show up in my "Type" ComboBox based on the Category.

I also have a subsequent set of ComboBoxes that are three deep: Region-Community-Facility and need to update them based on the previous choice.

Can someone explain this in a way that makes sense to me? I have very little experience with coding and nothing I have done has worked!

Tuesday, March 28, 2017 5:16 PM

Answers

• When a control(TextBox, ComboBox, etc) receives input, it causes events to "fire". You can "catch" these events in what are called "Event handlers". You create one by using the events tab in the property sheet for the control. If you set it to [Event Procedure] and click the ellipse, Access with create a method stub in the IDE for you. I would suggest using the AfterUpdate event of the combobox to change or filter the Recordsource of your other ComboBoxes.

For Example:
    Private Sub cbxEventCategory_AfterUpdate()
    Me.cbxEventType.Recordsource = "SELECT Type FROM EventType WHERE CatId = '" & me.cbxEventCategory & "' "
    End Sub

• Edited by HTHP Tuesday, March 28, 2017 6:01 PM
    • Marked as answer by MWoodall81 Wednesday, March 29, 2017 4:05 PM
    Tuesday, March 28, 2017 6:00 PM

All replies