Async / await - I just don't get it RRS feed

• Question

• I've been programming in C# for 10 years.  Have done many years of multi-threaded programming with threads, thread pools and most recently with Task<T>.  I fully understand tasks, ContinueWith(), cancellation, etc.  Today, I decided to try and understand what "async" is all about.  I read: Asynchronous Programming  and tried out a program:

class Program {
    		static void Main(string[] args) {

try {
    				AsyncTester tester = new AsyncTester();
    				tester.Test1();
    			}
    			catch (Exception e) {
    				Console.WriteLine("Exception:{0}\n{1}", e.Message, e.StackTrace);
    			}
    			finally {
    				Console.WriteLine("<CR> to exit...");
    				Console.ReadLine();
    			}
    		}
    	}

public class AsyncTester {

public async void Test1() {
    			float seconds = await WaitForTimeout(3000);
    			Console.WriteLine("{0} seconds", seconds);
    		}

public async Task<float> WaitForTimeout(int milliseconds) {
    			Stopwatch timer = new Stopwatch();
    			timer.Restart();
    			Task delay1 = Delay(milliseconds);
    			await delay1;
    			timer.Stop();
    			return (float) timer.Elapsed.TotalSeconds;
    		}

private Task Delay(int milliseconds) {
    			return new Task(() => Thread.Sleep(milliseconds));
    		}
    	}

I expected the Test1() method to delay for 3 seconds and then print the time it actually took.  Instead, it blows right through Test1() and returns.  I thought the "await" keyword would cause it to wait for the result.  If I take out the "async" keyword in front of Test1(), it won't compile.

Again, I just don't understand why I would ever use async/await.  The documentation says that this is a "simplified" approach.  Until someone can explain to me what this does, I'll stick to Tasks.

Tuesday, December 9, 2014 6:59 PM

Answers