none
EF questions for professional project RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all,

I'm totally new to EF and i would like to make some questions to decide if i could use EF for a certain project using (SQL Server DB).

The project will use a 300+ Gygabyte DB with more than 1000 tables. The DB is mainly for local use (calculations). Most of the info will be read only with low use rate, but certain tasks with small tables need to be fast. There will be initially one server but eventually we'll use a CLUSTER.

My uqestions are:

I've read that ORMs are problematic with big DBs with lots of tables (in runtime and in develop time). Is there any way to use EF only for a part of the DB? (the one that i will use more intensively) and leave the rest of the DB for conventional use throught ADO.NET?

In case that is not possible, is it good to use 2 DBs instead of one? One with the intensive info (used through EF) and the other with the not intensive one?

Is the performance loss too big when using EF instead of pure SQL? How does the size of the DB and the number of tables affect the performance in this case?

If i wanted the best performance possible, should i forget using EF in the end even if i use it in the begginning so i can develop the application faster (and then switch the routines to pure SQL progressively)?

I would appreciate any information.

Thanks in advance ^^

Sunday, November 6, 2011 7:42 PM

Answers

• Hi,

Do you have to move those data client side to perform the calculation, and then move the results back to server side ? If you need to perform calculations but need only aggregated results client side (is this what you mean with "local use") I would go for stored procedures to avoid moving data back and forth.

EF is not an all or nothing approach. You could have 1000 tables but use EF for 10 tables you'll need client side.