none
Is it possible to achieve functional reach test with Kinect RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all,

I am new to Kinect SDK and doing some experiment. In my experiment I am trying to achieve Functional Reach Test using Kinect as below:

Functional Reach Test means "Can Kinect detect the distance between normal posture to the distance traveled by the Arm ".

As per above diagram:

Total distance traveled = Distance between A to C - Distance between A to B

IMPORTANT: The reach test can be in any direct or can say in a 3D view. Like in forward direction, backward direction, left, right, up, down.

So my question is "Is it possible to achieve these kind of functional reach test with Kinect" with in 3D view?

Hoping for the solution of my experiment.

Thanks! Ashish Narnoli

Friday, August 14, 2015 6:41 AM

Answers

All replies

• Hi Ashish,

You should be able to accomplish this with the Kinect sensor.  When you get the body joint positions, you are given a 3D coordinate.  Based on your drawing, I would use the SpineBase joint (A) to confirm that the individual has not stepped forward and the hand joint positions (B and C) for your reach calculations.

Thanks,

David

Friday, August 14, 2015 6:01 PM
  • Thanks David for your reply.

I have few more questions in continuation with above  (Please don't mind)

1- As per above image the human body has side view. Is it possible to calculate reach test from a starting point towards any of side - either side, front, back, up or down side?

2- Can I construct a three dimensional envelope (3D wireframe structure and human body will trapped under this cage). That structure may be saved and further viewed and rotated.

The objective of asking few questions is to create a game. Gaming environment will display Cage with a trapped human in it. Now Human activity will include touching each and every bar so as to practice exercise.
    Human will touch single bar at a time which will get disappear once touched.