Microsoft rolls out the Chewbacca defense

General discussion

• This is in response to last week's 'Reflecting on your comments on the Start screen' blog post:

http://blogs.msdn.com/b/b8/archive/2011/10/11/reflecting-on-your-comments-on-the-start-screen.aspx

The arrogance Microsoft is displaying here is both staggering and disappointing.  In a post supposedly meant to address the serious usability issues that have been brought up again and again, they only look at a couple minor ones while missing all the big ones.  Sure, they bring out their telemetric data, their charts and college-level calculus formulas to distract us from the real issues.  But it's little more than the Chewbacca defense:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chewbacca_defense

Of course, we're all just peons and how can the peons possibly be right?

But let me tell you this.  I have been developing on Microsoft platforms for about 15 years now.   I was looking forward to writing Metro UI apps for what I thought was going to be Microsoft's next generation of tablets.

Instead Microsoft is trying to force a smart phone UI on to a desktop where it's completely inappropriate.

The way you use a tablet/smart phone and the way you use a desktop computer are very different:

• Tablets and smart phones are used primarily for consumption of data - web surfing, e-mails, social networking, watching movies, casual gaming, etc.
    • Desktops are used primarily for the production of data - word processing, spreadsheets, running business applications, data entry, software development, hard-core gaming, etc.

These are two different use cases. 

Sure, we can have one core OS for desktops and tablets, but the shells need to be different:

• Metro UI for tablets
    • Aero UI for desktops

Let those be the defaults and let users switch back and forth if they like. But they both need to be first-class citizens