How do I convert an application exe to a dll RRS feed

• Question

• Hi All,

I want to convert an existing application exe to a COM Dll. I am a newbie in this field and any help in this direction would be highly appreciated.
    Thanks in advance 
    Thursday, September 11, 2008 12:24 AM

Answers

• Alternatively to Vegan's suggestion, on the project properties, General, Configuration Type -> Change the combo box from 'Application (exe)' to 'Dynamic Library (dll)'.

On the point of using COM. I would highly recommend getting a good book on COM programming or looking at one of these beginner internet examples:

Code Project - Introduces COM
    CodeGuru - Introduces ActiveX

but I warn you: COM is a pretty complicated beast to master and not for the faint hearted!
    • Marked as answer by Yan-Fei Wei Wednesday, September 17, 2008 7:06 AM
    Thursday, September 11, 2008 11:18 AM

All replies

• Alternatively to Vegan's suggestion, on the project properties, General, Configuration Type -> Change the combo box from 'Application (exe)' to 'Dynamic Library (dll)'.

On the point of using COM. I would highly recommend getting a good book on COM programming or looking at one of these beginner internet examples:

but I warn you: COM is a pretty complicated beast to master and not for the faint hearted!
    • Marked as answer by Yan-Fei Wei Wednesday, September 17, 2008 7:06 AM
    Thursday, September 11, 2008 11:18 AM
  • Neil Tippett said:

Alternatively to Vegan's suggestion, on the project properties, General, Configuration Type -> Change the combo box from 'Application (exe)' to 'Dynamic Library (dll)'.

Are you sure That simple selection from exe to dll will convert your exe to dll.
    Thanx
    Rupesh Shukla
    Thursday, September 11, 2008 4:46 PM
  • Pretty certain - yes.