none
Creating EDR Model in Visual Studio 2013 RRS feed

• Question

• Dear Microsoft DreamSpark Support Team Firstly,
    I would like to thank you for helping me to complete my application into the
    installation of Visual Studio 2013.

My reason for coming here is quite simple.
    I would like to know, is it possible to create an Entity Relationship Diagram
    (EDR) The reason I ask, is because as you may know, I am studying an HNC/D
    Coarse leading to,

I hope my first degree and I am in my first two modules. My
    concern is how I can relate databases, using your application.

I have MySQL
    also installed and I am wondering if the information can be shared between both
    applications. I do hope you can direct me, and I will be looking forward to
    hearing from you.

Yours sincerely

J T Valerie 

• Moved by Amanda Zhu Monday, December 9, 2013 9:28 AM better forum
    Saturday, December 7, 2013 1:05 PM

Answers

• Hello,

>>is it possible to create an Entity Relationship Diagram (EDR)

If I understand correctly, you want to design the relationship of database tables firstly and then generate the database.

If it is, then you could use the model first in entity framework.

Model First allows usto create a new model using the Entity Framework Designer and then generate a database schema from the model. The model is stored in an EDMX file (.edmx extension) and can be viewed and edited in the Entity Framework Designer. The classes that we interact with in the application are automatically generated from the EDMX file.

For details, please have a look at the link below, it has the step-by-step walkthrough.

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-in/data/jj205424

If I misunderstand, please let me know.

Regards.

We are trying to better understand customer views on social support experience, so your participation in this interview project would be greatly appreciated if you have time. Thanks for helping make community forums a great place.