none
BizTalk EDI compared to other EDI Toolsets available RRS feed

• Question

• I recently started working for a small to medium sized manufacturing company and will be migrating their EDI platform to SAP as well as setting up a web site for customers for order/inventory inquiry.  I have about 9 years experience with EDI and about 5 years experience with B2B integrations.  I have used a number of EDI tools some that I dreaded that were more scripting based and others that were more graphical in nature that I enjoyed working with.  The one I enjoyed most was webMethods. 

I will be working with XML, Flat Files, and EDI transaction sets.  Mostly via FTP at this time but I would like to grow the use of AS2 in the future.  Integration with SAP is important as well.  Transactions will include 850, 855, 856, 810, 832 and 997’s. 

I’m interested in hearing from others who have worked with other ‘good’ EDI tools, not the ‘bad’ ones.  Anything is better than the last EDI tool I worked with.  I’m interested in getting your opinion regarding BizTalk from an EDI perspective.  How easy is it to work with and how flexible is it in being able to map complex scenarios. How long will it take to create a map from start to finish, including testing given that you have all the test data to work with and the data mapping defined?  

I’m also interested in knowing more about the SAP adapter.  When you pass an order to SAP, does BizTalk get immediate response as to if the order was successfully created or not.  If it went to SAP workflow with an error, can I determine that from BizTalk as apposed to creating a sales order?  

Another reason I’m interested in BizTalk is its ability to interface with SharePoint.  I’ve been reading much about SharePoint and its ability to work with BizTalk in interfacing with SAP to create a customer portal for order and inventory inquiry.  Have you worked with SharePoint as well in this regards?