none
Save date to local database from other class than the Form class (where I have the databinding) RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to databases why this question may seem obvious.

Simply I am creating a test application, where I link a local database to a form and add a data source  (and link the data source to the form). All works fine!

But lets say that I need to ADD new data from a different Class. How to I link to the database? 

I have tried to call the "adapter" through this code (from the other class)...

[Serializable()]
        public partial class Class1 : Form1
        {
            public void TestAdd()
            {
                this.firstTestTableAdapter.Fill(this.dBtestDataSet1.FirstTest);
            }
        }
    But it will not recognize the :
    firstTestTableAdapter
    What are I'm missing?

this is my Form code. 

namespace DBtest3
    {
        public partial class Form1 : Form
        {
            private Class1 _class1;

public Form1()
            {
                InitializeComponent();

_class1 = new Class1();
            }

private void firstTestBindingNavigatorSaveItem_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)
            {
                this.Validate();
                this.firstTestBindingSource.EndEdit();
                this.tableAdapterManager.UpdateAll(this.dBtestDataSet1);

}

private void Form1_Load(object sender, EventArgs e)
            {
                // TODO: This line of code loads data into the 'dBtestDataSet1.FirstTest' table. You can move, or remove it, as needed.
                this.firstTestTableAdapter.Fill(this.dBtestDataSet1.FirstTest);

}
        }
    }

• Moved by CoolDadTx Wednesday, September 23, 2015 5:33 PM ADO related
    Wednesday, September 23, 2015 1:34 PM

Answers