none
How to perform randomization in VB.net?

Question

• I am developing a Quiz project using VB.net and Access 2003 database(IDE: Visual studio 2015). I have almost developed the project and it is working correctly. Now I need questions to be picked up randomly from the question paper, with options randomised as well i.e. same person logging in again or different person sitting next to you should not get same questions or same options for same question.

So I don't know how to perform this randomization. Can anyone please guide me and provide me a idea for performing this task.

Thank you in advance

Friday, March 17, 2017 7:38 PM

Answers

• Thank you for your response sir!!!!

It would be great helpful if you write a simple code for performing the above task. I have never used List(OfYourClass) before so don't know its necessary methods to perform randomization task.

So please just write a simple code regarding your above explanation. Then I can understand it and implement in my project.

Waiting for your response.

Thank you

I presume that you're talking to me? We don't all see this forum the same way so please make it obvious.

I agree with Acamar that there's not enough to go on to get very specific, but I can show you the concept that you can duplicate:

Option Strict On
    Option Explicit On
    Option Infer Off

Public Class Form1
        Private rand As Random

Private Sub Form1_Load(ByVal sender As System.Object, _
                               ByVal e As System.EventArgs) _
                               Handles MyBase.Load

rand = New Random
            DemonstrateRandom()

End Sub

Private Sub DemonstrateRandom()

Dim tempList As New List(Of String) _
                From {"The", "Quick", "Brown", "Fox", _
                 "Jumps", "Over", "The", "Lazy", "Dog"}

Dim sb As New System.Text.StringBuilder

Do While tempList.Count > 0
                Dim idx As Integer = rand.Next(0, tempList.Count)
                sb.AppendLine(tempList(idx))