kernel mode vs user mode RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I'm new to Win CE development, coming from the world of RTOS and flat memory models. I am familiar with the concepts of kernel mode vs user mode but we are struggling to determine if there is any benefit to writing software to run in user mode instead of kernel mode. The software is doing some data processing and eventually is controlling peripherals  such as PWM, A2D, I2C, ect... Obviously the code that controls the hardware will be kernel mode, but we're trying to determine if there is a benefit to separating the code into kernel mode code and user mode code. If it helps clarify, we're not concerned with any of the "safety" elements of user mode, we're mostly "firmware" guys who are use to programming on the bare metal.

Thanks,

Eric

Wednesday, May 8, 2013 4:42 PM

Answers

• You just have to keep in mind that any call from user space to kernel space involves a complete VM switch, so minimize the frequency of those switches for performance.

Normally, you'd do any hard realtime stuff in kernel mode, inside a driver. Think data collection from a device when responding to an interrupt. Do as much as you can in the driver, put the data in a SW FIFO and allow the application to get the data in a lazy manner. Don't expect the application to respond within realtime boundaries.

This will be your architecture:

KERNEL MODE - Drivers, data collection, realtime control [NATIVE CODE]

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

KERNEL/USER MODE - SDK DLL - Handles all CreateFile(L"DRV0:", etc), DeviceIoControl(hDevice, etc) calls. All the plumbing required to allow easy interfacing from .NET to your driver [NATIVE CODE]. The SDK DLL has the Q flag specified in the bib records.

vvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvv

USER MODE - .NET Application calling your SDK DLL (so better make sure your SDK functions are easy to P/Invoke)

Good luck,

Michel Verhagen, eMVP
    Check out my blog: http://guruce.com/blog

GuruCE