How to develop a two tier(client server application) application ???? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi !  I am a student new at programming though i have build few desktop application in vb.net but  i am completely unaware about client server architecture. I want to build a application for my school to maintain students and teachers database ,  this time i want to build a two tier (client server application using visual studio) but  i don't know where to start from . 

My school has five computers for official use all running on Xp service pack 3 professional connected though LAN.

I want use sqlserver 2008 express as my database and VB  as my programming language and my application type is windows form application .

I know this much "i need a sever to host my database " but i don't know what should be the operating system of the server?? do i need a dedicated server running on a network operating system to serve five client or i can do that on Xp ???

What are the basic requirements and knowledge i must have before developing a Clint server application...

Any kind of help is appreciated !!!! 

Sunday, March 13, 2011 7:54 AM

All replies

• In the window application development, please do follow the simple rule

Graphical user Intefrace( Winform or WPF) <==>  WCF <==> Data Access Layer <==> Sql Server 2008.

In this application flow , the graphical user interface program can installed in various machines , the the GUI application can communicate with WCF Service which is residing in a single server where wcf service , DAL and sql server 2008 are installed.

Sunday, March 13, 2011 1:03 PM
  •  

I think what you just describe is 3(n)-tier application and not 2-tier:client server

sql server 2008 express edition can be installed on xp with sp2 and above

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/en/details.aspx?FamilyID=b5d1b8c3-fda5-4508-b0d0-1311d670e336&displaylang=en

Monday, March 14, 2011 6:12 PM