none
What is the best way to use Access 2010 to export table data to XML specified by an external (vendor) XSD? RRS feed

• Question

• I recently started job that requires me to collect data/reports of differing formats (Excel reports along with .csv formatted records) from HR/timekeeping systems, do a handful of calculations, and then export those results to an XML file as defined by an external vendor's XSD (provided).

The majority of this work was done manually prior to my hire. I would like to automate this work with a script that can work on the imported data tables (in Access 2010) and export an XML file according to the supplied schema.

I'm a programmer with experience in C/C++/Perl (mostly for embedded applications on Linux) but this is a new arena for me and, after a bit of research, I decided to use Access to manage the data sources and write a VB script using LINQ to export the data to XML...

What are the general classes I should consider (or not waste time) writing?

Are there any good examples out there (or templates within Access) that can guide me?

What (avoidable) pitfalls should I be aware of?

Any advice would be much appreciated...

Thanks!

Wednesday, December 9, 2015 8:32 PM

Answers

• >>>I think what I am gearing towards is writing an add-in in VB using Visual Studio. I've used MSVC 2012 before, indeed, one of the questions I've run into since starting this job is if I will be hampered too much by using older versions of Access/Visual Studio (2010) <<<

Firstly, if you mean create VSTO add-ins in VB, I am afraid of saying that VSTO add-ins don't support Access.

For more information, click here to refer about Features Available by Office Application and Project Type

Secondly, if you want to export Data, Schema, and related Tables to XML, you could refer to this helpful link:

https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/office/ff193785.aspx

• Marked as answer by David_JunFeng Wednesday, December 23, 2015 2:34 PM