Right way to change datagrid row, column, cells background colors in code-behind? RRS feed

• Frage

• Hi all,

I have a winform program that I'm upgrading to wpf (I'm new to wpf). The wpf code for the function (SetdataGridBackgroundColors()) is below with the winform code commented out so I can fix it.  I have a datagrid with a Cornsilk background color alteranating with LightGreen depending on the content of datetime  cell. If the day portion of the datetime is different then the color changes from one to the other. I used a colorIndex variable because at the end of the month it could go from 31 to 1 and that would not work if I use the day directly.

I tried this line to change the background color:

optionsDataDatagrid.RowBackground = new SolidColorBrush(Colors.Cornsilk);

this works but it changes every row. I found this other stuff:

DataGridRow currentRowColor = optionsDataDatagrid.ItemContainerGenerator.ContainerFromIndex(i) as DataGridRow;
    //DataGridRow currentRowColor = optionsDataDatagrid.ItemContainerGenerator.ContainerFromItem(optionsDataDatagrid.Items[i]) as DataGridRow;
    currentRowColor.Background = new SolidColorBrush(Colors.Cornsilk);

Either ContainerFromIndex or ContainerFromItem throw an exception because currentRowColor is null. I looked at optionsDataDatagrid.Items[i] and is not null. Then I read that using ItemContainerGenerator is not a good idea.

BTW I'm calling SetdataGridBackgroundColors() after datagrid is been filled with data.

So... what is the proper way to set each row, column or cell background color in wpf?

Thanks