none
Connection String for ODBC vs. OLE DB RRS feed

• Question

• If I develop an app involving connection string, I typically go with ODBC connection string, because I can find the data source property when I go to Control Panel > System and Security > Administrative Tools > Data Source (ODBC) .

I am not an IT guy, but I do programming while and while. I have never used OLE DB connection string before, if I go with OLE DB connection string, where should I look for the information in my computer? Take below connection string for example, where should I find the information? Should I also look into Data Source (ODBC) under Control Panel?

Thanks.

----------------------------------------------------------

Provider=Sybase.ASEOLEDBProvider;Srvr=myASEserver,5000;Catalog=myDataBase;

User Id=myUsername;Password=myPassword;

Tuesday, November 19, 2019 4:48 PM

Answers

• Hi VA_er, 

It is not appropriate to look for information about OLEDB connection string in ODBC Data Source Administrator. ODBC Data Source Administrator is related to data source in ODBC which is different from OLEDB.

You can use visual studio tools (Tools -> connect to database…) to help you connect to database.

For example:

It will help you connect to database or find the connect string.

You can refer to following reference for more details.

Add new connections

Hope it could be helpful.

Best Regards,

Xingyu Zhao

MSDN Community Support
    Please remember to click "Mark as Answer" the responses that resolved your issue, and to click "Unmark as Answer" if not. This can be beneficial to other community members reading this thread. If you have any compliments or complaints to MSDN Support, feel free to contact MSDNFSF@microsoft.com.

• Marked as answer by VA_er Sunday, November 24, 2019 1:12 AM
    Friday, November 22, 2019 8:37 AM

All replies

• All popular connection strings are found here, not the same as ODBC data sources.

https://www.connectionstrings.com/