Security - Combining sync services with an ASP.NET application RRS feed

• Question

• Hi, I'm new to this so any comments/pointers will help. I have a client XBAP application that needs to access a SQL database and file resources on my web server. I currently have a web service that does authentication, roles, and profiles through ASP.NET. It also provides my client app with data, hiding the SQL database on the server.

Sync services sound like a great way to solve several of my issues regarding occasionally connected clients. However using sync services requires my client to have direct visibility to my SQL database. I'm okay with this as long as I can make this unified and secure. I've seen examples of how to secure access to my web service interfaces using ASP.NET authentication, and I've seen docs on how to setup secure access to a SQL database.

Is it one authority or the other? Or is there some way I'm supposed to combine these so that I have authentication, roles and user level security shared between them?

Thanks, Ed

• Moved by Max Wang_1983 Friday, April 22, 2011 9:11 PM forum consolidation (From:SyncFx - Microsoft Sync Framework Database Providers [ReadOnly])
    Wednesday, December 26, 2007 8:29 PM

Answers

• Ah, I think I understand now. You set the client SyncAgent.RemoteProvider to a WCF Service interface that wraps the

DbServerSyncProvider. Service interface access is protected by ASP.NET authentication.

Thanks, Ed
    Thursday, December 27, 2007 2:07 AM

All replies

• Hey Ed,