none
passing large datasets to Azure ML published service RRS feed

• Question

• Hi there, 

I am new to Azure ML Studio, and as such may be trying to use it in ways it isn't design for.   Hopefully someone can guide me here.

I am trying to develop a demand planning model for a large inventory of materials (active ingredients).

I want to pass in a time series dataset of daily consumption going back several years for ALL active ingredients used.  I want to get back another dataset that represents the predicted consumption 8 weeks into the future for each active ingredient.   

The intent here would be to create a pipeline that would run nightly and continuously evolve with the latest actual consumption metrics. 

My model trims, resamples, normalizes,  and groups the data, and I then pass it to a python script module that I wrote to interatively apply ARIMA to each active ingredients individual time series, and project out 8 weeks... there are about 50+ active ingredients.

In effect I am doing 50+ on-the-fly training and prediction iterations (actually thousands because I also have to find the best parameters for ARIMA which involves calling the ARIMA algorithm 216 times per material) , and building up a new dataset as the ultimate output.   It can take a couple of hours to run one complete cycle, but I do get adequate results.

I have this working as an experiment in Azure ML Studio, but I now want to publish it as a web service and allow someone to pass in large datasets and wait asynchronously for the results to eventually come back (I would have a service continuously running in the background waiting for the results)

When I published this experiment through ML studio, it didn't seem possible to pass in a dataset.   It seemed like it would only let me pass in the individual fields that make up one record from the original dataset.

Am I approaching this the wrong way?   Any suggestions?

-Sheldon

• Edited by slyttle Friday, November 8, 2019 1:35 PM