none
SQLDataReader return 1 less row than actual RRS feed

• Question

• Newbie here. Trying to learn.

I have written a successful query against a table with 21 records. 3 of the records have identical data in the column I'm selecting. (I have the table displayed on another monitor so I know the records exist).

However, when I do:

If (reader.Read())

and cycle thru the results with:

Console.WriteLine((reader["PrmtTNum"]));

but it always misses the first matching record.

It does give me the second and third record.

Any ideas on why it's skipping the first matching record?

Saturday, January 18, 2020 10:09 PM

Answers

• If (reader.Read())

Every time you call the Read() method, it pulls-in one row from the table. Ths row will no longer be readable in the next read operations.

Therefore, if you first call if (reader.Read()) and then later you do while (reader.Read()) to read all the rows, then the "while" will not be able to see the first row, because it will have been already "swallowed" by the "if".

Solution: Don't use the "if" statement. It is not needed; if there are no rows, the "while" loop will receive "false" the first time and the whole loop will be bypassed. You will know that there were no rows because nothing will be stored in whatever place your loop would have stored it if it had performed any iterations.

• Marked as answer by J Vallee Sunday, January 19, 2020 2:37 PM
    Sunday, January 19, 2020 9:43 AM

All replies

• Newbie here. Trying to learn.

I have written a successful query against a table with 21 records. 3 of the records have identical data in the column I'm selecting. (I have the table displayed on another monitor so I know the records exist).

However, when I do:

If (reader.Read())

and cycle thru the results with:

Console.WriteLine((reader["PrmtTNum"]));

but it always misses the first matching record.

It does give me the second and third record.

Any ideas on why it's skipping the first matching record?